Michael Jackson’s father has confessed for the first time that he used to beat his children with a strap.

Rev Al Sharpton and Joe Jackson give a press conference outside of the Jackson family home in Encino. Flanked by body guards and also accompanied by music producer Marshall Thompson the trio walked out of the front gates and spent a moment looking at the make shift fan memorial that has been set up outside of the family home. Joe announced that Marshall would be forming a new record company to oversee Michael Jacksons songs. Michael died suddenly at the age of 50 after collapsing at his Beverly Hills home.

During a sensational interview on The Oprah Winfrey Show, Jackson was initially defensive about his relationship with son Michael, insisting: “I don’t think he was afraid of me. What he was afraid of, he may do something wrong and I’d chastise him, but not beat him. I never beat him like the media tried to say.”

But he was forced to reveal the truth when his wife, Katherine, interjected: “You might as well admit it. That’s the way black people raised their children.”

She added: “He used a strap.”

Jackson then revealed: “I would have punished him by whipping him with a strap or something when he did something wrong. It would have kept him out of trouble.”

The King of Pop’s parents were interviewed by talk-show host Oprah Winfrey at their home in Encino, California, for a special edition of the show.

During the emotional interview, Katherine also revealed that she had confronted Michael – who died last June after his personal physician, Conrad Murray, injected him with the powerful anaesthetic Propofol – about his addiction to painkillers, but he denied having a problem.

She told Winfrey: “I spoke to him about it once, when I had heard it, and he denied it. I was telling him I didn’t want to hear one day that he had overdosed because it would break my heart – it would kill me too.

“But he kept saying he wasn’t. He kept saying, ‘My own mother don’t believe me’. There was part of me that wanted to believe him, but I didn’t.”

